SOL Day 14: Back on the Band Wagon

As they say, “The best laid plans of mice and men often go awry.”  As I lay on the couch Thursday night I found myself worrying endlessly how I would get the sick child off the chest of the sick mommy (myself) and find enough energy to write for my Slice of Life.

If I just wrote the word ‘tired’ would that count as a post?

I struggled to determine what was top priority.  The dishes still littered the kitchen counters from the attempt of a dinner for my husband when he returned home.  I glanced over at the mound of laundry that was still in front of the machine.

I hated making the decision but I knew it was my job-I needed to prioritize.  I needed to let something go.  I needed to be okay with it.

So with a large exhale I decided the small amount of energy I had left needed to be given to my home and family.  I needed to let my Slice of Life challenge go for the next few days and be okay with the idea that I could still jump back on the band wagon when we were all feeling well again.  I needed to remind myself over and over and over again that although the thought of succeeding and writing all 31 days and potentially winning one of the prizes was nice, my original goal was to write in the same manner that I expect of my students.  I wanted to live the writer’s life and reflect on some of the struggles or successes that come along with this.  So here I am, Monday morning, feeling well, still feeling slightly guilty, but chugging along and getting back to my writing life.

3 thoughts on “SOL Day 14: Back on the Band Wagon

  1. Aw, I hope you feel better soon. Even not feeling 100%, you still manage to write nice description…I feel your exhale. I can see your kitchen and the amount of laundry in front of the washer. Good for you for getting back to it!

    Like

  2. I understand the impulse to prioritize, especially when ill. I’ve been sick–everyone in my house is sick–going on three weeks now, but I don’t have small children around. You also made me think about what it means to “live the writer’s life.” Honestly, a thoughtful post such as this one means much more in terms of that lifestyle than posting just to post, and I have read posts like that. That is, the writer’s life must be intentional, not habitual. I hope that makes sense. Stay well! Enjoy writing!

    Like

  3. Your description took me back to the many years that I couldn’t seem to get to the bottom of the laundry pile, keep my kitchen (or the rest of the place, for that matter) in order, and handle all the tasks right in front of my face. Although, I sometimes feel overwhelmed, it’s nothing like “back in the day”. Prioritizing and being good to ourselves takes courage, which is sometimes more important than keeping a challenge. I’m glad you’re back. Picking it up again after some space seems much more important to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

